Blog

16
November 2016

Gavin Pickin

Day 4 - Ortus Developer Week 2016 - Thursday Nov 17, 2016

Apache, CommandBox, Conferences, ContentBox

3 days down, 2 to go. We have had 12 great sessions, but we still have 9 sessions still to come. Ortus Developer Week 2016 has over 225 registered users already this year, and the number keeps growing daily. Thursday's sessions will be bringing you a couple of deep dives, CommandBox and ContentBox. Then we'll have legendary Mark Mandel showing us Scalable Realtime Microservices with Kubernetes and gPRC. Last but not least, we'll learn how to accelerate web applications with Nginx.

For those those have not heard of ODW, it is a series of FREE and live webinars hosted by the Ortus Team and seasoned developers from around the world. These sessions will cover software development, web and mobile, and usage of any of our open source and commercial products. After a busy conference season, ODW gives you 1 more action packed week of sessions, enjoyable without travel & TSA, all from the comfort of your own office. If the sessions are too distracting to watch while you work, we record all the sessions, and make them available for later viewing as well.

Thursday Nov 17, 2016

9am PST / 11am CST - CommandBox Deep Dive — presented by Brad Wood
CommandBox is the coolest thing since sliced bread. I use it every day, and every day I learn something new about it. Brad will give us a deep dive, showing us some of the new goodies he has put into his baby. I wonder what I'll learn in this session.

11am PST / 1pm CST - ContentBox CMS Deep Dive — presented by Gavin Pickin
Gavin is an interesting character, well, actually, thats me. I will be showing you a deep dive into ContentBox, giving you all you know to get started, but also how to do a little more with ContentBox, including looking at themes, widgets, modules and what else ContentBox has coming to us soon.

1pm PST / 3pm CST - Scalable Realtime Microservices with Kubernetes and gRPC — presented by Mark Mandel
Mark Mandel is a well known person in the CFML Community, although he spends all his time working for Google these days, as part of the Google Cloud Platform crew. He has always loved new and shiny, and working with Kubernetes has filled up a lot of his time at Google, and in this session, he'll give us a taste of what Kubernetes can do for you and why you should care.

3pm PST / 5pm CST - Accelerating Your Web Applications with NGINX — presented by Kevin Jones
Nginx is continuing to grow in market share as a Web Server, but Nginx is a lot more than that. With load balancing, caching, and Nginx Plus features including awesome dashboards and much more, if you haven't looked into Nginx, you should. Kevin will show us how using Nginx can accelerate your web applications, and make you think twice about using Apache, IIS and other alternatives.

Thursday looks like another day full of great sessions, will you join us? Or just watch the recordings later?
See you in the Chat Rooms

Blog Search